The Online Professional: Tell your story, take our survey

Gender & Digital Culture survey
Gender & Digital Culture survey

The term has finally come to an end, and for the first time in 1.5 years, I don’t have to design any new courses until January (although I’m co-designing a new Master’s programme for the university, which is its own interesting project…). This means that I’m able to catch up on all of my various projects that have been awaiting my attention or moving forward primarily via the support of some of my great colleagues.

I have a lot to blog about – and, in a wonderful turn of events, I’m likely to be guest blogging for the incredible Savage Minds in the next couple of months (which is a real dream come true for me, as I absolutely love that site). But for now, I just want to point you towards our Gender & Digital Culture project, as our online survey has gone live today.

As you know, this project is very close to my heart: I have had both the most incredible and the most distressing of experiences in navigating my own online professional identity. I know that I’m not alone, but we want to get a sense of how others relate to digital media in their working lives. I’ve copied below the background and links to our survey and blog, and I would be ever so appreciative if you could take the time to complete the (quick) survey and share it with your friends & colleagues (from any field of work/practice).

For those of you in York, I’ll be speaking about aspects of my experience and our project at the forthcoming How to be a public intellectual event (10 July, 1-3pm) run through the Philosophy Department’s fascinating Project Integrity. (Note that the excellent Lorna Richardson will also be speaking in the same session as me.) As well, I’m hoping to get funding to present at the University of Rochester’s Decoding the digital conference in early September. Fingers crossed those funds come through!

Lucy Shipley, Jim Osborne, Graeme Earl and I will also be running an afternoon workshop on the subject of gender & the digital world – live-streamed and live-linked between multiple sites – on Friday, 8 November. So if you are keen on participating in person (York or Southampton) or remotely (via Google Hangouts) in that event, please don’t hesitate to let me know. I’ll circulate more details closer to the date.

Here is the background on our survey – your contribution is important to understanding how we construct and negotiate our online professional identities.

Do you use social media for work? Have you panicked after hitting the “Send” button on an email? Been trolled? Gone viral?

Help us find out how professionals are engaging with digital media – tell your story, take our survey.

The Gender and Digital Culture project would like to hear your thoughts on the positives and negatives of using the internet in a professional capacity. You can read more about our wider aims on our blog, follow our Twitter account, and participate in our survey through the link below.

SURVEY: http://bit.ly/14FJ70a

You must be over 18 years of age to participate in the survey. You will be able to exit the survey at any time by closing the window. All your responses may be provided anonymously, and your information will be held securely.

 

One thought on “The Online Professional: Tell your story, take our survey

Leave a Reply

